It Stopped After You Left.

Today I received an unexpected message. She was asking me why I had stopped blogging. She also said that my blogs are something that her and many other people look forward to reading. I gave the excuse which was valid only up until Friday. “I’ve been doing exams.” Honestly, I had slacked. I composed a poem just to keep you occupied and interested while I fashion an absorbing piece of prose. I hope you enjoy. 

I.

On a tablet-armed chair,

 Blueberry Elle & Vire yoghurt in my hand,

I feel an intense heart clenching pain.

 I had remembered what made THIS place,

My Home!

 

 On a quiet saunter in the picturesque Hyde park,

As silent but yet vehement they get,

 Piercing at my raw chest, a dagger,

Well-matched with a stonefish sting.

 I had remembered what made THIS place,

My Home!

 

 On a gel mattress, the bed with a medieval carving,

That of the famous “mercy seats,”

 I recall a fine moment,

Of sharing finer wine with Her.

 I had remembered what made THIS place,

My Home!

 

II.

 The pain is temporary, I cajole myself.

Efforts gone to waste,

 I see You enjoying Yourself in a distant place,

Most of the time anyway.

 I remembered what made THIS place,

My Home!

 

 The pain is temporary, I cajole myself.

Choosing to look at the sanguine side,

 Reading a novel is to be my whipping boy.

However, the moral fibre of the novel is,

 Unlike what You and I experience, togetherness.

I remembered what made THIS place,

 My Home!

 

The pain is temporary, I cajole myself.

 Filling myself with lies, I tell myself a white lie.

Scarred on the face and left with a throbbing scar,

 I face the truth, at the depth of my insomniac night

Your return, like two parallel lines intersecting, is simply absurd.

 I remembered what made THIS place,

My Home!

 

III.

 Like a fine tune by ABBA,

All our conversations were nothing but a memory I deeply enjoyed,

 Yet deeply lacerating since they were simply imaginations.

One of our best songs, name withheld; said

   “Come Home, Come Home…”

Having listened to this

 I remembered what made THIS place,

My Home!

 

 Staring at an 1821 Julgar Champagne bottle,

Growing finer like champagne did, was our maxim.

 We shared memories and on each, we made

Promises of growing old together.

 We even had jokes planned for our grandkids,

And denture colours picked out.

 Wake up, I acquiesced…how draconian.

I remembered what made THIS place,

 My Home!

 

Torn and bitten like the small prisoner,

 I knew, that moment;

How I was to move forward.

 I remembered what made thi…

 

IV.

Scratching and throbbing,

 Almost like a fatal sting filled with the venom

Of a box jellyfish.

 This is how I feel, in the shortest sentence or words.

I remembered what made th…

 

 Yesterday I stared into the dull blue space,

The home of the birds and the planes,

 Staring right into my eyes was a ray of sunlight so vivid

I got this stimulating flashback…an anamnesis.

 We had a pact, and in this you mentioned to me something

That only seemed to carry weight now in my rosy retrospection.

 

 Seasons came,

And they went. I met another person.

 She lit the room, filled the vacancy.

She had this beaming smile that simply washed me of the ache

 That you had left me to carry, alone.

I feared that it was all too good to be true,

 Perhaps one day I would wake up from a dream,

Or I would wake up alone in my bed.

 With all the spontaneous negativity,

I choose to ignore these thoughts and

 Rather plan a future with the people who are in my life today.

I will never forget how YOU left me,

 But I’m done being bitter about it.

Only you made this place my home.

 

V. Conclusion.

 On a tablet-armed chair,

No yoghurt this time…

 I am accepting that we have split ways,

I will always miss you, and this song makes the situation teary.

 Regardless,

              You aren’t here anymore.

              “This is no longer my home.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment